Script complexity/lags relation

monday

Expert
Reaction score
Hi, I'm looking for an advice from someone experienced in this topic. Would it be laggy if the script would spawn npc actors in every 50x50m square of the map? (each of them would do something else + each of them would have its own set of skills like attack, defense, hp etc.). The aim is to create multiplayer-rpg like gothic. Is it possible to make the script that complex and maintain high performance?

I'm a complete noob when it comes to pawn scripting and an answer can potentially save me a lot of time wasted on trying to make something which won't work anyway. Thanks

|]_ReT1neX_[|

Reaction score
You're going to need a good host or a good vps. and....
You're saying that you want to spawn a NPC in every 50x50m square of the map.
You do realise you're going to spawn approximately 120 NPC's.... "or more" RIGHT? :eek:mg_run:

So. The answer is

YES
It will lag your entire server!

(* I Mean... that's what i think *) :dont_care:

Kyance

Reaction score
monday link said:
Hi, I'm looking for an advice from someone experienced in this topic. Would it be laggy if the script would spawn npc actors in every 50x50m square of the map? (each of them would do something else + each of them would have its own set of skills like attack, defense, hp etc.). The aim is to create multiplayer-rpg like gothic. Is it possible to make the script that complex and maintain high performance?

I'm a complete noob when it comes to pawn scripting and an answer can potentially save me a lot of time wasted on trying to make something which won't work anyway. Thanks
If you make it efficiently, then no, it wouldn't lag, since there are many servers(DayZ for an example), which have 50-150 NPCs, and the server doesn't lag.